Teacher Report Card for Mrs. Martin

Each year I have my students fill out a survey about class to help me reflect on my teaching and what I might need to change for the next year. I was tired of the survey I had given in the past so I sent out a request via Twitter for math surveys that people have given. @classroomchef shared the Teacher Report Card that they use and I really found it to be a good fit for me so that is what I used.

Students loved the idea that they got to grade me, so here are the results and my reflections of those. The first questions were on a likert scale from 1 “not at all” to 5 “definitely”.

  1. Respects each student.
    1. 71% of the students gave me a 4-5 on this question.
    2. 16% gave me a 3
    3. 3% gave me a 1
  2. Uses language that we can understand.
    1. 74% of the students gave me a 4-5. Students didn’t understand this question at first but after a peer explained what was being asked students understood.
    2. 11% gave me a 3
    3. 4% gave me a 1 or 2
  3. Tries to see the student’s point of view.
    1. 77% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 16% gave me a 3
    3. 6% gave me a 1 or 2
  4. Explains topics clearly.
    1. 78% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 14% gave me a 3
    3. 6% gave me a 1 or 2
  5. Does a good job of treating all students the same.
    1. 81% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 15% gave me a 3
    3. 4% gave me a 1 or 2
  6. Seems to enjoy teaching.
    1. 80% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 15% gave me a 3
    3. 5% gave me a 1
  7. Shows interest in students’ lives.
    1. 64% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 21% gave me a 3
    3. 15% gave me a 1 or 2
  8. Makes me feel important.
    1. 63% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 19% gave me a 4
    3. 17% gave me a 1 or 2
  9. Keeps the class under control without being too tough.
    1. 64% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 26% gave me a 3
    3. 9% gave me a 1 or 2
  10. Has a good pace (not too fast or too slow).
    1. 67% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 25% gave me a 3
    3. 7% gave me a 1 or 2
  11. Answers questions completely.
    1. 81 % of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 13% gave me a 3
    3. 5% gave me a 1 or 2
  12. Praises good work.
    1. 86% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 8% gave me a 3
    3. 6% gave me a 1 or 2
  13. Grades fairly.
    1. 81% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 7% gave me a 3
    3. 3% gave me a 1 or 2
  14. Encourages me to be responsible.
    1. 81% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 10% gave me a 3
    3. 9% gave me a 1 or 2
  15. Gives tests that reflect the material in the unit.
    1. 92% of the students gave me a 4-5
    2. 7% gave me a 3
    3. 1% gave me a 1 or 3
  16. What do you like best about the class? (Open ended question)

Answers here ranged from 4-5 answer of nothing I don’t know to, I like the part where we get to do learning activities, I learn better in here than any math class, I love math if I don’t understand something she comes and helps, she makes it so that I can understand math, that I actually learned something, that we move fast enough so that we don’t get bored, it keeps me interested and I have fun while doing it, and much more.

  1. How can class be improved for next year? (Open ended question)

Answers here ranged from I don’t know to, less homework, more time reviewing before a test, if a kid gets the answer then let them share how because kids understand kids better, slow down, move faster, not sit the people who are serious about math next to the class clowns and much more.

  1. Anything else you want to tell me?

Answers here where a lot of no to you’re a good teacher and I appreciate your teaching, I learned more stuff about math, this was an amazing year, she is an amazing teacher and I hate when people are rude to her, thank you so much for the postcard you sent me  you made me feel important and made me excited to come to class, I really enjoyed math class this year, you were a very fun teacher to have and always made me feel important and much more.

Overall I am not really surprised at the answers students gave. From the likert questions I think I could work on classroom management more and showing more interest in students lives. I have been thinking about classroom management and there are some things I could change. My management is not awful by any means but there is always room for change. It all depends on the the kids you have from one period to the next. From the open ended questions I have been thinking of ways that I can change math homework. I am debating if I should give any at all but I really believe that math is one subject that you really need to practice in. Again this is something that I am going to be researching this summer.

Some teachers don’t like giving students surveys to see how they as a teacher did for the year. I feel that all teachers should do this as a way to grow and reflect.

Today, is my last day at work for the year. My room is cleaned and instead of thinking about all the cool things I could be doing for the summer I am thinking about what to change in my room and starting my summer professional reading already. No rest for the wicked.

Have a great summer everyone.

-Sarah

Tags: , ,

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

