5 Practice Book Study: Chapter 1 Introducing the Five Practices

5 Practice Book Study: Chapter 1 Introducing the Five Practices

I have the privilege of teaching out of CMP (Connected Mathematics Project). CMP follows the 5 practices stated in this book to a T. The lessons begin with a launch, then students explore in their groups and finally we summarizes the lesson (CMP calls them investigations).

Before I can even begin a lesson with students I have to work through the lesson to see what is involved and to anticipate what students might do and think. I don’t think that teachers always think to do this. Most of us were taught to follow what the teacher does; that there is only one way to solve something and this is totally the opposite thinking.

While students are exploring their lesson I am monitoring all students. I find this hard and I feel that as I teach this way more that monitoring becomes easier and easier. I try to make it to all groups at least twice during a lesson to see how they are thinking and begin to strategize how I want to run our summary. I am continually deciding in my head who to select when we discuss strategies and solutions in class. Then I am thinking who I should call on first and so on, so that we get the most out of our discussion (sequencing and connections).

All of this takes time more than teaching a regular traditional math lesson. I can see why some teachers are resistant to this change.

-Sarah

Tags: ,

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

2 responses to “5 Practice Book Study: Chapter 1 Introducing the Five Practices”

  1. nickvromero says :

    Getting to each group at least twice during the period seems like a good way to make sure you stay on top of monitoring so you know which groups to call up. How long have you been teaching with CMP. I have not seen it in action, though it seems like it would be a great fit with the 5 practices.

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

