Math Talk – Discussions

I am amazed some years with the level of math talk I hear from my students during class.­­­­­ I have one class in particular this year that I so want to video tape their small group discussions so they can hear what I hear and see. I would also like to do this so that others (teachers, admin, parents, and community members) can also experience the rich mathematical discussions going on. It’s not always the math that I am so impressed with but with the way that student’s appropriately disagree with each other.

I have not heard students saying unkind things like, “That’s stupid.” “No, I’m right. “You’re wrong.” yet this year.  Instead I am hearing students justifying what they think, how they think, and talking through the problems. Students are truly explaining to other students how they got an answer. It is then that I hear the mathematical talk.

I know this is a short blog but as Dan Meyer said he reads them if there short and/or have pictures.

-Sarah

Tags: , ,

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

