Marshmallow Challenge with 7th Graders

This was my first year trying the Marshmallow Challenge with my seventh graders. I thought it would be a great way to start the second day of school.

This group activity allowed me to see who take charges in a group and who just sits back and does nothing. I am glad to say that only one student really sat back and did about nothing. I was a little disappointed that I had a few groups give up after a short amount of time.

Since this was my first time trying out the challenge and since the students are seventh graders I did allow them to tape their structure to the desk if they thought of it.

 2014-08-22 10.02.012014-08-22 11.42.48

Tallest structure at 65 cm

Tallest structure at 65 cm

Tags: , , ,

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

