Professional Book #1 for the Summer

One of my goals this summer is to get some professional reading done as I didn’t feel that PD that was provided by my school district was very useful this year.

I just finished This Is Not a Test: A Narrative on Race, Class and Education by Jose Luis Vilson. This book was recommended by many that I follow on Twitter and on the MBToS reading list. Yes, Jose is a math teacher but this book was not about math but about Jose’s journey to becoming a teacher, his first few years teaching and finding his voice.

The main thing that I have taken away from reading this book is to have a VOICE! I know that I have that voice and usually only use that voice when talking to my husband and close friends. But this VOICE needs to be heard and I need to not to be afraid that I might hurt feelings. There were many times in the last couple of years were I have wanted to speak up and have that VOICE but would just bite my tongue. I don’t want to hurt people’s feelings (and if we are being professional we should be able to speak our minds) but I can’t sit back anymore.

VOICE!

Tags:

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

