True Story I Just Have to Share

In math class this year I have started a bulletin board titled “Rockin Math Stars!”. On post assessments for each 4 earned on a learning target students get a post it note to put their name on and then stick on the bulletin board. Our last assessment had 12 learning targets, a lot but all aligned to the CORE. In one class I ran out of post it notes. (Note this ideas was taken from http://mathymcmatherson.wordpress.com/)

Anyway, yesterday was the last day for retakes for the semester. A student (7th grader) worked in homeroom on studying and then started retaking. He even stayed after school to finish and then I drove him home as there was not academic bus. He retook once and went from earning a 1 to a 3.5 but was not happen enough with that so, asked if he could study some more and retake. I asked him why he was not happy with a 3.5 and his reply was “I don’t care about the 3.5 I want another post it note to put my name on for the bulletin board.” This just cracked me up. He went from earning a B in math to an overall A- by the end of the day. It’s the small things sometimes that motivate students.

Image

 

See attached picture of our bulletin board so far. I am going to run out of space soon. Each math class has a different colored post it note.

Tags: , , ,

About martinsarah

7th grade math teacher in Iowa

Leave a Reply

ThinkThankThunk

middle school math

mathisajourney

middle school math

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

